Justice Murlidhar appoint as the Chief Justice at Orrisa High Court and Justice Hima Kohli as Telangana CJ

Justice Murlidhar appoint as the Chief Justice at Orrisa High Court and Justice Hima Kohli as Telangana CJ

Supreme Court Collegium has recommended appointing Punjab and Haryana High Court Judge Justice S. Muralidhar as the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court.

Collegium has also recommended Delhi High Court Judge Justice Hima Kohli as the Chief Justice of Telangana High Court.
Justice Muralidhar started his law practice in the year 1984 in Chennai. Three years later, in 1987, he shifted to the Supreme Court and the Delhi High Court. He was active as a lawyer for the Supreme Court Legal Services Committee and later was its member for two terms.

He was appointed amicus curiae by the Supreme Court in several PIL cases and cases involving convicts on the death row. His pro bono work included the cases for the victims of the Bhopal Gas Disaster and those displaced by the dams on the Narmada. He also counselled for the National Human Rights Commission and the Election Commission of India and was a part-time member of the Law Commission.

In May 2006, he was appointed as a judge of the Delhi High Court. In the year 2003, he was awarded Ph.D. by Delhi University.

During his tenure as a judge at the Delhi High Court, Justice Muralidhar got rid of the convention of judges being addressed as “Lordships”. Inter alia, he has been on several important benches, including the full bench in 2010 that ruled in favour of disclosing how many Supreme Court judges had declared their assets, in an RTI.

He was a part of the High Court bench that first legalized homosexuality in the 2009 Naz Foundation case.

He also led the division bench that convicted members of the Uttar Pradesh Provincial Armed Constabulary (PAC) in the Hashimpura massacre case and Congress leader Sajjan Kumar in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots case.

He was transferred to Punjab and Haryana High Court in February 22020.

Justice Hima Kohli got enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of Delhi.

She was appointed as an Additional Judge of the High Court of Delhi on May 29, 2006, and took oath as a Permanent Judge on 29.08.2007.

She was appointed as the Chairperson of the Committee of the Delhi Judicial Academy from 11.3.2020.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!